Design Event MART

A curated exhibition showcasing the best of contemporary design in the North of England.

Designers have been carefully selected with work from a range of design disciplines including furniture, ceramics, textiles, lighting and product design. Original products featured in the exhibition will be available to buy in our online store and pop up design store at the Festival.

Exhibitors are selected by a panel of experts looking for excellence in the application of form, function, use of materials and processes. The result is an exhibition of the highest quality; innovative work at various stages of production including new prototypes, one-off pieces and commissions.

Selection panel:

Sara Ley – Head of Retail, BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art (www.shop.balticmill.com)
Barbara Chandler – Award-winning journalist and photographer (www.twitter.com/sunnyholt)
Kaylee Jenkinson – Exhibitions Officer, Manchester Craft and Design Centre (www.craftanddesign.com)
Rickard Whittingham – Programme Leader, 3D Design & Designers in Residence, Northumbria University (www.northumbria.ac.uk)
Naomi Shedden – Senior Trend Analyst, Trend Bible (www.trendbible.com)
Karen Nairstone – Director, Design Event (www.design-event.co.uk)

Featured designers:

Furniture

AFID Design – www.afiddesign.co.uk
Ben Couture – www.jardinecouture.co.uk
Helen Codd – www.helencodd.co.uk
Nick James – www.jamesdesign.co.uk
Novocastrian – www.novocastrian.co
Sam Bell – sam.bellspb@icloud.com

Lighting

Ed Lewis – www.edlewis.co
Janey Speers – www.janeyspeers.co.uk
Vilius Viso – itsvilius@outlook.com

Surface design

Bronwen Deane – www.bronwendesign.co.uk
Electrik Sheep – www.electriksheep.com
Sophie Thompson – www.terrariumdesigns.co.uk

Ceramics

Guy Mitchell Design – www.guymitchelldesign.com
Kirsty Adams – www.kirstyadams.com

Product design

Ajoto – www.ajoto.com
John Hollington – www.johnhollingtondesign.com

Architectural design

RASKL Design Studio – www.raskl.co.uk

On show: 7 – 16 October, The Assembly House, 55 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 1SG

Monday – Wednesday 10:00 – 17:00

Thursday – Friday 10:00 – 18:00

Saturday 10:00 – 17:00

Sunday 11:00 – 17:00

Entry to The Assembly House: £2.50

Concessions FREE